Tanya Mars: Pure Hell


On view from 21 September – 11 November, 1990, the exhibition Pure Hell consisted of a reworking of a trilogy of performances by Tanya Mars, dating from 1984 – 1990. Each of the three works focussed on a female archetype: Queen Elizabeth I, representing political power; Mae West, representing the power of femininity, sexuality and seduction; and Alice, of Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, representing the power of creativity and the imagination.

This 40-page softcover catalogue features photographs of Mars’s performances, as well as an introduction by curator Barbara Fischer and an essay on the artist by cultural theorist Dot Tuer.

Product Information

  • Author(s): Barbara Fischer, Dot Tuer
  • Publisher: The Power Plant
  • Year: 1990
  • ISBN: 0-921047-64-9
  • Pages: 40
  • Illustrations: Colour
  • Dimensions: 20 x 27.5 cm
  • Availability: In Stock